10 thoughts on “It’s a Free Internet

  1. Haha I love the memes you used in your blog! The internet is our freedom and I agree that we are entitled to that. Without the the NBN and faster internet we are less likely to continue to be considered a fast producing and successful country.

    • Thanks for your comment! I totally agree with you. Without the NBN we will be even less competitive in a world that is already decades in front of us when it comes to technology. Thank you for reading 🙂

  2. Great read. I like your writing style and I agree with your analysis on Sterling’s predictions. He has the optimism which is legitimate from a nineties perspective but the idea of ‘freedom’ is not quite right. It is a concern when the person in the position of power to ‘monitor the internet’ doesn’t quite understand the proposed legislation.

    • Thank you for your comment! I totally agree with you. I think the people proposing the legislation are a bit out of touch with technology, the internet and the culture surrounding it. Thanks for reading 🙂

  3. I enjoyed reading this post, particularly how you contrasted the way Sterling saw the internet with such optimism and freedom, to the cold reality that were facing today, with the restrictions being placed on us and 24 hour monitoring that is occurring (in the USA) or might (Australia’s metadata collection). This makes me wonder how far the people in charge are willing to go, to show that they are in control and the bleak future of the internet.

Tell me your thoughts

