At The Movies

The cinema is a place of weird smells, crying kids and rattling plastic bags. So when I heard the blogging task for this week was going to the movies, I thought to myself how I would ever undertake this daunting task. It was horrifying enough that I had to leave the house and pay for a movie. So for a bit of moral support I organised to go with a friend.

you-dont-say-meme-cinema

We decided to see one of the films offered in Wollongong Event Cinema’s travelling film festival. My friend sent me a trailer for Locke earlier in the week and it was being screened at 4:30pm on Sunday. Luckily we were both available, so there were no coupling constraints. We met at the cinema, I was dropped off and my friend drove so we overcame any possible capability constraints. There were no authority constraints after we purchased our tickets for the film separately, but we were a bit early and decided to grab a burger.

The travelling film festival had been running all weekend and Locke was the second last film to be screened so when we arrived back at the cinema there were many more people than usual of a different age group. Rather than the usual weekend crowd at the movies, i.e kids, tweens, parents etc. the main age group in attendance were 55-70.

The cinema was filling up fast so we decided to get our seats. There were no allocated seats so we sat towards the back with only three small groups of people behind us. One group was very chatty amongst themselves (if you want to talk go to coffee, not to the movies), another used their phone every five seconds to see what they were doing with their several thousand plastic bags and I imagine the other group were just as annoyed at them as I was.

The film itself was great, but the people in the cinema made the experience inferior to what it should have been. The main thing that made going to the movies bearable was that I was able to hang out with my friend for a few hours. And I think this is one of the main reasons that people go to the movies. Most of the people attending the screening were in couples or small groups, therefore it can be assumed that for many people the thought of going to the cinema is more about spending time with people they care about.

This is why I don’t believe cinema will die out completely. Of course people are going to stay home and download movies to watch with their friends and family, but going to the movies is an experience many of us remember, regardless of whether they are good or bad. I believe the main threat to the survival of the cinema is the price of snacks and drinks.

last-night-a-movie-theater-was-robbed

Tell me your thoughts

